Digging In The Dress-Up Box

Snow started so I decided to stop going outside. Instead I thought I would go through my closet and do a little shopping. I have a few events coming up that are either black-tie or cocktail attire required. And if you’re like me, you always want something new. Every time you wear a fancy dress or suit and go to an event, you have a specific memory attached to that piece.

You know if you go through your closet you could tell a story about each thing in there. It’s amazing but unfortunately leaves you broke at the end of the day.

So to save a little money and to stay warm, I reached WAY back into the depths of my closet and pulled out some fun things.

This is hands down my favorite. Favorite favorite favorite. It is actually an old wedding dress of my moms that she didn’t want anymore so I go it. Lucky me! It’s a cream silk with lace over it. I haven’t gotten to wear it yet but it’s a perfect floor length hippie gown.

Actually this is also 2nd hand from my mom. God it’s been around forever. I’ve worn it to High School functions, college mixers, everything. It’s two layers. The top printed layer has a slit that goes up to about my ribs and then the bottom layer has a slit that follows to my upper thigh. It’s in such need of repair but I don’t think I’ll ever give it up.

Ha oh geez this should probably go but oh well. It was my senior year prom dress and I remember I loved the simple front and huge open back so much with the little bedazzled straps. At least it was simple and black. It could have been much worse.

So I haven’t had this dress long or anything and it doesn’t hold any super sentimental value other than I wore it to my cousins wedding, but it’s just so fun. I had a blast in this dress the moment I tried it on. Cupcakes & Cashmere said on her blog the other day that sometimes she just buys things for the shear ‘twirl factor’ and that’s exactly what this Betsy Johnson dress is. With it’s deep jewel tone purple fading into gray (you can’t tell how awesome the color is from the picture but trust me) this dress is a party waiting to happen.

I am not sure what any of you are supposed to get out of this post but I had a lot of fun doing it. Leave me a note or send pictures if you have any really great or even really tragic dresses with great stories.

About Christen Mitchell Styling

I am a fashion stylist that offers my clients wardrobe consulting, personal shopping, and image consultation. Check me out at www.ChristenMitchellStyling.com
This entry was posted in Outfit Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

